(Depression is a funny thing. A deep pain, but also a fire to the fuel of creativity. This is one such poem that came alive in a dark period. As yet, not attached to a Filmic Cut. Yet. Hope you enjoy – OJ)

I have woke up

But I’m still asleep

In a world I don’t know

And a life I don’t care

The everyday noise continues

The drones keep droning on

No peace for the wicked

No rest for the soul

.

There is no blue

No yellow or red

There is no colour

Just damned shades of grey

.

The sky is stale

The grass is dead

The rivers are burning

And I can’t put them out

.

I’m in the void

Sucked deep below

No ladders to climb

No ropes to pull me out

.

I hear people say

“Are you OK, my friend?”

I want to say no

But I keep my plastered smile

.

You nod a hello

You say good morning

Inside you’re screaming

Outside you’re fine

.

And you think

Is this the day?

Am I at the very end

The blackest night of all?

.

The fade falls in front of me

And I can’t see any more

No songs to sing, no kiss goodnight

Just blindness, forever more

.

So I stand before the abyss

One leg hovering over the edge

With one voice saying jump

And the other… well…

Leave a Reply

